Message from the Chair

It is a tremendous honor to serve as the Chair of the Division of Cardiovascular Surgery at the University of Toronto. The Division includes 30 full-time faculty surgeons at five affiliated hospitals (the Hospital For Sick Children, St. Michael’s Hospital, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Trillium Health Partners and the University Health Network), performing over 6000 pump cases per annum.

The Division has a long and storied history of surgical innovation, clinical excellence, impactful research in a variety of domains, and education of residents and fellows. The Divisional faculty include multiple past presidents of the American Association for Thoracic Surgery and the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery. In the 104 year history of the AATS, only 13 individuals have been honored with the organization's most significant award, the Scientific Achievement Award; two of those surgeons are current University of Toronto faculty. Cardiac surgeons around the globe perform operations named after University of Toronto faculty. The Division is one of the most academically productive and renowned, with longstanding contributions in clinical outcomes research in complex valvular reconstruction, coronary bypass surgery, adult congenital heart disease, aortic surgery, neonatal cardiac surgery, cardiac transplantation and mechanical circulatory support, as well as basic and translational research in novel pharmacologic and regenerative medicine therapies for heart failure, cardiac allograft preservation and perfusion and aortic biomechanics, to mention only a few.

Dozens of international fellows come to Toronto every year to train under the auspices of Divisional faculty. Our residency program is geared towards training the academic and clinical leaders of tomorrow; almost all residents obtain a PhD or other advanced degree during their surgical training, often through the Surgical Scientist Training Program, which has fostered the development of academic surgeons within the University of Toronto Department of Surgery for decades.

Significant events are noted in recent issues of our divisional newsletter as well as on this website and our Twitter account. We are always seeking to reconnect with former fellows and residents – please contact us so that we can maintain these links. I look forward to continuing to advance the clinical, academic and educational profile of the Division with new collaborations and initiatives.


Terrence M. Yau., B.A., M.D., C.M., M.Sc. F.R.C.S.(C)
Chair, Division of Cardiovascular Surgery, University of Toronto
Director of Research, Division of Cardiovascular Surgery,
University Health Network
Director, Cardiac Stem Cell Therapy Program
Professor of Surgery, University of Toronto
Attending Cardiac Surgeon, Peter Munk Cardiac Centre

Contact Us

  • Chair: Dr. Terrence Yau
  • Divisional Program Administraton: Thanu Sabesan

Toronto General Hospital
200 Elizabeth St., 4NU-469
Toronto, On M5G 2C4
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Designed by: Nufuzion Design

Temerty Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto © 2020